Be Awesome – Pick the best – 21 November 2012

We spend so much time thinking about what we don’t have, dreaming of a better life, but this is it, this is the better life. Contentment within ourselves and love is what we need. We don’t need perfection; it is our imperfections that make us perfect. It is those imperfections that make us who we are and we need to love ourselves and appreciate them. We are how we deal with our lives. We have so many choices.

I have realised that Bitterness and anger are poisonous to the soul and for me; I made a decision some time ago to wash it all away. If we wait for people to feel bad for their actions, we will spend all that time waiting feeling bad ourselves. Because it never happens and if it does, people will very seldom say it. Fruit in a basket has the ability to ripen each other and put one piece of vrot fruit in there, and the rest rots. Liken that to thoughts and feelings. It is always easy for something to rot, but so difficult to keep things fresh. If we focus on the negative, that is all we will attract. Also, forgiving someone is not letting them off the hook, it is setting you free. A thought, use it, don’t use it.

Take some time out your day, fish through events and think of the most awesome part of a day. It could be something small, like getting to finish a cup of tea before it gets cold (any parent will find this to be a treat). But do this every day. It helps you focus your thoughts and attention to the good stuff. At some point I struggled to find negatives – This is a good thing and by keeping the focus on the good, I get to avoid negative thought. There are days when I am feeling like it’s too much effort to be anything but…. BLEH.

What I also like doing is sitting and thinking about my best moment ever, a time when I laughed so hard I almost peed my pants, or the first time George held my hand and that feeling of “wow”. Immediately you stop feeling bad. It’s amazing. So if you cannot find one good thing on any particular day, think of a moment from another day!

This is an image I took with my phone one morning. The memory is as clear as day. I was feeling a little demotivated, I dropped Kelso at school and as I was walking back to my car, on the road was this leaf on. It had fallen right in front of my car. It served as a reminder that love is always around me and I will find my mojo. I had to take a photo of it and I look at it from time to time when I need that kick!

Leave a Reply

